Langer turns down White House visit


NFL Hall of Fame center Jim Langer was one of several Miami Dolphins players from the perfect 1972 Super Bowl championship team to reject an opportunity to visit the White House and meet with President Barack Obama on Tuesday, according a report picked up by www.cbssports.com. Langer, an SDSU grad and father-in-law of recently appointed state Rep. Kris Langer, R-Dell Rapids, is quoted in the story: “We’ve got some real moral compass issues in Washington.”

  1. #1 by polly politic on August 21, 2013 - 6:01 am

    Good for him!!!

  2. #2 by beenthere on August 21, 2013 - 9:00 pm

    I agree, hurray for Jim! I would have done the same !

  3. #3 by Donald Pay on August 22, 2013 - 1:51 pm

    This Langer seems like an ass. Here’s the whole quote:

    “We’ve got some real moral compass issues in Washington,” Langer said. “I don’t want to be in a room with those people and pretend I’m having a good time. I can’t do that. If that (angers) people, so be it.”

    Hopefully, his daughter-in-law will reflect a bit upon the stupidity of that statement, and reject it. She’s going to be going to Pierre where a lot of people are on different sides of issues than she is. If she treats people in the disrespectful and anti-South Dakota way her father-in-law does, she will never amount to squat as a legislator.

    Langer ought to apologize.

  4. #4 by beenthere on August 22, 2013 - 10:11 pm

    Now that I see the whole quote, I love it even more. The Obamas have shown zero respect for Christians, conservatives, gun owners, tea partiers, pro-lifers, and generally anyone who disagrees with them on anything. Apparently they have never heard of the Golden Rule, unless it’s the one that says ” he who controls the gold makes the rules”. Millions of people feel the same way Jim does, and I call it being “pro-American”, not “anti-South Dakotan”.

  5. #5 by polly politic on August 23, 2013 - 4:50 am

    Donald says, “If she treats people in the disrespectful and anti-South Dakota way her father-in-law does, she will never amount to squat as a legislator.” Wrong, she just might become President some day!!!

  6. #6 by interested party on August 23, 2013 - 7:12 am

    Looks like just another washed-up has-been composing his swan song for the reactionary right: his bronze parachute is assured.

  7. #7 by Donald Pay on August 23, 2013 - 7:49 am

    When you have a persecution complex and continually get facts wrong, you end up in the bitter and defeated place that “been there” and “polly politic” occupy. They are so confident of their false statements and hateful opinions that they dispense with the courtesy of putting their names behind them.

  8. #8 by caheidelberger on August 23, 2013 - 10:18 am

    Oh, sure, because everyone Langer consorted with in the NFL was a paragon of moral virtues. No class.

  9. #9 by polly politic on August 23, 2013 - 10:55 am

    Love to read your attacks on anything not leftie. I guess in your realm lying (you can keep your insurance if you want it as one of the most glaring), bribing (to get Obamacare passed), lying again (true cost of Obamacare, sense of entitlement (use of taxpayer money to fund the Obama’s vacations etc), coverup (Benghazi, fast and furious), race baiting (plenty of examples here) are moral and upright standards to be admired. Only in your world, Donald and IP.

  10. #10 by Angus on August 24, 2013 - 3:27 am

    Lets deconstruct exactly what Mr. Langer actually said without hyperbole added for political fascination. “We’ve got some real moral compass issues in Washington.” Generally Democrats and Republicans would either agree this is right or have no true opinion either way. Who in their right mind would argue that Washington is blanketed with morality? No attack upon any one person or party. Honest opinion shared for whomever cares. Secondly Mr. Langer says, “I don’t want to be in a room with those people and pretend I’m having a good time. I can’t do that. If that (angers) people, so be it.” Again this statement generalizes a Washington group purported to be in the White House. If staying away from a party where the host wishes to use the guests as fodder for future publicity stunts on media driven outlets of persuasion of public opinion and that public opinion is different then that of the guests being used I would call that just plain smart.

You must be logged in to post a comment.