Daugaard to meet with new tech-school board

Gov. Dennis Daugaard will be the man in the middle when the new state Board of Technical Education meets Monday afternoon in Rapid City.

The current agenda shows the governor is scheduled for a discussion with the board members at 3 p.m. MT at Western Dakota Technical Institute’s event center. A discussion with Rapid City-area homebuilders follows at 5:30 p.m. MT at Dakota Steakhouse.

The meeting continues Tuesday at 8 a.m. MT back at the event center. After a half-dozen items of routine business, the new board will receive reports from state Board of Regents executive director Mike Rush and state Labor and Regulation Secretary Marcia Hultman.

Board members then take a 10 a.m. MT break. After they return, the board is scheduled to receive various reports, including regional cost-competitiveness, and is scheduled for a 1:30 p.m. MT tour of the Western Dakota Tech campus.

The new board was created by the Legislature with the support of the governor during the 2017 session after voters narrowly approved a constitutional amendment in the November 2016 general election.

The state Board of Education previously governed public schools and the four public tech institutes at Watertown, Mitchell, Rapid City and Sioux Falls.

The legislation, SB 65, also reduced the size of the state Board of Education to seven members from nine in the past and changed the name to the state Board of Education Standards.

The governor appointed to the tech board Rod Bowar of Kennebec, Scott Knuppe of Rapid City, Ed Mallett of Watertown, Scott Peterson of Belle Fourche, Doug Ekeren of Yankton, Bob Faehn of Watertown, Dana Dykehouse of Sioux Falls, Terry Sabers of Mitchell and Diana VanderWoude of Sioux Falls. They will elect officers Tuesday.

The revised state Board of Education members are Don Kirkegaard of Sturgis, Glenna Fouberg of Aberdeen, Susan Aguilar of Sioux Falls, Gopal Vyas of Mitchell, Scott Herman of Mission, Kay Schallenkamp of Spearfish and Lori Wagner of Webster. Leaving the board are one of its longest-serving members, Marilyn Hoyt of Huron, and vice president Deb Shephard of Watertown.

This entry was posted in SD Government on by .

About Bob Mercer

I am a newspaper reporter in Pierre where I cover state government, issues and politics for the Aberdeen American News, the Black Hills Pioneer, the Mitchell Daily Republic, the Pierre Capital Journal, the Rapid City Journal, the Watertown Public Opinion and the Yankton Press & Dakotan. I began covering the Legislature in 1985 and have lived in Pierre since December 1986. I grew up in Wisconsin, worked my way through college, took my first full-time newspapers jobs in Wyoming, and have lived in South Dakota since the summer of 1984 when I moved to Aberdeen to join the American News. I worked for the Rapid City Journal as its state government reporter in Pierre from late 1992 through late 1998. I spent four years as press secretary and a senior aide to Gov. Bill Janklow during his fourth and final term from late 1998 through 2002. I returned to journalism in January 2003 as a self-employed reporter, providing state government coverage to the Mitchell, Watertown, Spearfish, Pierre and, depending on the year, Aberdeen newspapers. In 2008, the Aberdeen American News offered to hire me as full-time member of the AAN staff, with my reports continuing to be available to the Mitchell, Watertown, Spearfish, Pierre, Yankton and Rapid City papers. The new arrangement has been in effect since January 2009 as the seven papers continue their remarkable dedication to their readers and the general public, as the only South Dakota news outlets with a full-time reporter covering state government in Pierre throughout the year. In addition to focusing on the Legislature during the annual winter session and its various activities during the interim periods between sessions, I spend many days throughout the year -- traveling as often necessary -- to cover state government boards and commissions which oversee the state universities, technical institutes, outdoors, water, environment, business, public schools, banking, agriculture, utilities, health care and various other areas of public interest. I purposely don't register to vote because of my profession; the last time I recall voting in a presidential election was the first time, 1976, when I had just turned 18. I think I voted for Jimmy Carter over Gerald Ford. Make of that what you want, just don't make much of it.

Leave a Reply